McAfee Secure Site

Rhode Island Car Insurance Quote

The attitude of the people of Rhode Island is summed up in their state motto: "Hope". The people of this state are hopeful about their future. One way to make sure that future is as great as you want it to be is by saving money wherever possible. At, we can save you money on your car insurance. You can find a policy with low rates and the right coverage for all cities in Rhode Island. This savings starts when you get a free quote for your city.

Rhode Islanders pay more than the national average for their car insurance. Take 2003 for example. That year Rhode Islanders paid around $1,156 for their car insurance premiums, while the national average was lower at $914. These rates are not fixed by insurance companies or state agencies. It is possible to find much lower rates in Rhode Island with the help of

Rates are constantly changing in Rhode Island. The 2003 rate was 18.32% higher than the 1999 rate! Just 4 years before 2003, Rhode Islanders were paying around $977 per year for their car insurance. If you are not shopping around for better rates, you are going to be paying too much! Get your free online quote from us right now!

Rates do not always increase, however, because of the work of sites like Our comparison shopping feature has caused rates to decrease in recent years. For example, in 2007 analysts expect to see rates drop by .5% to 1%. The reason for this is the competition created by comparison shopping sites like this one.

Like all states, Rhode Island follows a tort system that applies to car accidents. Under this tort system, you or your insurance company will not be charged with damages for an accident unless it can be proven that you caused the accident. While all states have similar systems, they do vary from state to state. Check out our State Insurance Regulators page to find a link to your state's information.

Rhode Island requires you to have certain coverage options in place before you start driving in their state. The basic requirements include a minimum Bodily Injury Liability amount of $25,000 per person injured in an accident, up to at least $50,000 per accident. You also must have a minimum of $25,000 in Property Damage Liability coverage. These three basic coverage amounts are sometimes called 25/50/25 coverage.

In addition to 25/50/25 coverage, Rhode Island state law also requires that you have Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage, with a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage will pay for bodily injury sustained in a car accident where an uninsured driver is at fault. Also, if the drive does not have enough insurance, or is underinsured, the coverage will help pay expenses.

There are other coverage options you can have in Rhode Island that are not required by law, such as PIP coverage. PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection, and this covers the medical expenses for you and your passengers if you are involved in a car accident, no matter who is at fault for the accident. This is considered an optional coverage option in Rhode Island.

Whether you have a terrible driving record or a perfect one, we will be able to save you money with our services here at We are the only site you need to use in order to find the lowest rates for Rhode Island car insurance. You need to protect your car and the people in it, and with our help you can do so while saving money. Just enter your zip code in the box above and see how much you can save! Even if you do not live in the Ocean State, we can still save you money. Either choose your state below or give us your zip code, and we can provide you with all of the information you need to start saving money.
Get Quotes
Search By State
State-specific laws, insurance minimums, and more.

Insurance In Your State

Search by Type
Car Insurance Quotes

Coupe - Sedan - Convertible

Motorcycle Insurance

Scooter - Dirt Bike - Moped

Truck Insurance

Pickup - Van - RV

Search QuoteCarInsurance