McAfee Secure Site

South Carolina Car Insurance Quote

The motto of the state of South Carolina is "Dum spiro, spreo," which means, "While I breathe, I hope." The hopeful spirit of the citizens of the Palmetto State is part of what draws so many people to live there every year. Whether you are a new resident or an old timer, you need to be aware of the laws and regulations that surround car insurance.

To put it simply, you must have car insurance to drive in the state of South Carolina. This car insurance can take a significant amount of your money each year. Likely you are looking for ways to save money on your car insurance costs. One of the best ways is to comparison shop on the internet, and is the best site to use. We will prepare an online quote for you in just minutes based on your zip code, so you can quickly see how much money you can save on your yearly bill. All you need to do is sign up for a free quote for your city.

Consider the fact that South Carolinians paid, on average, $866 for their insurance premiums in 2003. This compares to the higher national rate of $914 per year the same year. While South Carolina had a lower average, most residents were still paying more than they should, simply because they mistakenly assumed that there was no way to get a lower payment. By comparison shopping on sites like, you will save money on your car insurance.

Car insurance rates do change, so shopping the competition is the best way to make sure that you have the best rate every year. For example, experts expect to see a rate decrease of .5% to 1% in the year 2007, and comparison shopping ensures you get your part of this decrease. It was through the work of sites like that this rate decrease was possible.

Whether they increase or decrease, South Carolina car insurance rates are changing every year. The rates in 1999 were around $702 per year. By the year 2003 the rate had increased by 23.36%! If you are not shopping with us, you are wasting money on these increases, because you can often find lower rates through other companies.

South Carolina follows a tort system that requires a driver to be proven as at fault for an accident before any damages can be charged to the driver's insurance company. To understand the laws of your specific state, you need to check with your state's insurance regulator. Our State Insurance Regulators page has a list of all the state insurance regulators with links to their websites.

You must make sure that your insurance covers the required 15/30/10 coverage minimums. This refers to having Bodily Injury Liability coverage of $15,000 per person with a total of $30,000 per accident, along with Property Damage Liability with a minimum of $10,000. Additionally, you will have to have Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage. This coverage covers you and your passengers if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance. You must have at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.

Your insurance provider may offer you other services, such as Personal Injury Protection, or PIP. PIP helps to pay for any medical expenses you or your passengers have as a result of an accident. This coverage is not a requirement based on South Carolina state law, but is something you can purchase as optional coverage.

No matter how good or bad your driving record is, can save you money on your South Carolina car insurance, or insurance in any other state for that matter. Simply give us your zip code above and within minutes you will be looking at your online quote. If you are shopping in a state other than South Carolina, choose your state from the list below to find out more information about your state's laws.
Get Quotes
Search By State
State-specific laws, insurance minimums, and more.

Insurance In Your State

Search by Type
Car Insurance Quotes

Coupe - Sedan - Convertible

Motorcycle Insurance

Scooter - Dirt Bike - Moped

Truck Insurance

Pickup - Van - RV

Search QuoteCarInsurance